Federal Chancellors since 1949

Angela Merkel (since 2005)

Angela Merkel has been head of the German Government since 22 November 2005. She is the first woman and the first former East German to hold this office. Before Merkel, seven men headed the German Government after 1949. Each of them faced very different challenges – and at the same time left his mark on account of his power to determine general guidelines of government policy.

All Chancellors

Bundeskanzler Konrad Adenauer - Gemälde von Hans Jürgen Kallmann.

Konrad Adenauer

1949 - 1963 more
Bundeskanzler Ludwig Erhard - Gemälde von Günter Rittner.

Ludwig Erhard

1963 - 1966 more
Bundeskanzler Willy Brandt - Gemälde von Oswald Petersen.

Willy Brandt

1969 - 1974 more
Bundeskanzler Helmut Schmidt - Gemälde von Bernhard Heisig.

Helmut Schmidt

1974 - 1982 more
Bundeskanzler Helmut Kohl - Gemälde von Albrecht Gehse.

Helmut Kohl

1982 - 1998 more

Angela Merkel

since 2005 - more
Photo credits

Legal notice

Data privacy information

© 2020 The Press and Information Office of the Federal Government